EVS in Jugendwerk der AWO

Life as a European volunteer in Stuttgart, Germany

Setting the wheels in motion

Are you a young person, eager to try out new things, adventurous, willing to prepare food by yourself  and thus survive without your mommy ? One might think this is an ad for Survivor or some other reality show but that is not the case.

I am talking about EVS ( European Voluntary Service)  a part of Erasmus + programme  which enables young people to do voluntary work in a foreign country within or outside the EU.

In the following text I will offer an insight into the everyday life of a Jugendwerk volunteer.

First things first, let me introduce myself.

My name is Milan and I come from Serbia.

I started EVS because I felt it was time to do something different in my life. I just graduated, I wasn’t even thinking about a steady job/ career  because it was virtually impossible, and I wanted ( I still do), I will have to use the worn-out  cliche ”See the world”. Not just see, experience, meet as many people as possible, travel, learn, share and grow.

I have been here for 2 weeks now and still haven’t got enough time to take a thorough tour around the city of Stuttgart so I cannot write much about it of course.

But I can show you 🙂

12166515_10207783389880595_1116199991_n

This was on the second day of my arrival. Beautiful day. Also the last time I saw the sun 🙂

12166476_10207783445001973_1366777586_n

The view of the Wasen, a festival which takes place twice a year, in Spring and Autumn.

As mentioned before I went there on the following day of my arrival and I really enjoyed myself . A steady flow of people with traditional outfit and smiling faces looking for … well, mostly beer 🙂

12118887_1184200148275013_2825836977047509560_n

And now something about the work in the office and things I learned about Germany so far.

  • It is called voluntary work for a reason, you will have to do some work here.
  • First impression could be misleading. Take your time to form an opinion.
  • Germans are crazy about sparkling water.
  • Get a calendar because you cannot keep up with the dates and you will be flooded with information
  • Learn to cook
  • Culture shock/homesickness/adaptation/ integration is a process so relax

Until the next time!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2015 by .
