EVS in Jugendwerk der AWO

Life as a European volunteer in Stuttgart, Germany

My first days in Stuggi… :)

My first days in Germany… and seems already like a month to me! 🙂 Soooo many new people and so many impressions… but let´s start from the very beginning…

On the 7th of April, sunny beautiful Sunday, I got into the train in Bratislava, where I am from. I had to change twice, in Vienna and Münich, and after some technical problems in Ulm, where the ´super cool modern´ train got broken and we all had to get off the train and wait for the another, I was finally in Stuttgart! 🙂 In the train station, there were already 3 girls waiting for me, so I forgot all the travel problems immediately and everything was great again 🙂

They took me to my new home. It´s typical german WG (Wohngemeinschaft), where you are sharing a flat together with other people. We came together to my new room, with which I felt immediately in love! Seriously, the room has all I could need and it´s very light. A lot of sun is coming in, what is very important to me, so it couldn´t have been better 🙂 Also my roommates are veeery nice and cool people, so I am sure it´s gonna be a really great year. And also a very cute surprise from my colleagues was waiting for me in my room… (see the photo 😉 )

1

Monday morning was my first day in the office of Jugendwerk, where I am going to work for the one whole year. People are really nice and I am absolutely sure, that the work will be extremely interesting and I will never have a chance to get bored in here 🙂 Everything goes so fast… On my first weekend I already took part on Juleica training (Youth Leader Training Course). After two of these trainings I can be a teamer, one of the leaders in youth camps, many of which is Jugendwerk organizing in summer. Seems, that this summer I am also gonna do one of them, probably, so pretty excited about that!

Stuttgart or Stuggi, as some people call this city, made me a truly nice welcome – with looooot of sun and high summer temperatures 🙂 Stuttgart is maybe not the most beautiful city in the world, but I have to say: I love it!!! It has a lot of beautiful large parks and green areas, some nice buildings and a laid-back, vivid and cool atmosphere. People are friendl, everywhere – in the streets, in the offices, shops,… I got to see also some of the local bars already, we made barbecue with Erik and some friends, and so on… so much happening! 🙂

Every day brings something special – new people, new experiences, impressions, places, … so far I can say, that I am very happy here, I am enjoying my time here for 200% – either working in Jugendwerk, or walking in the streets of ´Stuggi´, or coming home and ´quatsching´ (chatting) with my roommates…

I am pretty curious and excited, what the next days, weeks and months will bring to me… so, definitely talk to you later! 🙂 Bis dann 😉

P.S.: I am adding some photos, to make this post more demonstrative… and colourful… 🙂

4

 

5

One comment on “My first days in Stuggi… :)

  1. Olga Basova
    April 20, 2013

    Stuttgart is one of my favourite cities! Enjoy it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2013 by .
